small update from Searston

IMG_0356

Didn’t think I’d have time for another post so soon, but I thought I’d share some of today and yesterday with you. Some of the best weather we’ve had so far.

IMG_0329

IMG_0351

Last night, we had a beautiful camping site down at McKay Beach near Jeffries. The beauty of this trip thus far has been in the small off-shoots from the main drag. The McKay Beach came by way of a very insignificant looking dirt road off of a side road off Highway 1. It was so worth it! Check out this little video:

 

Searston is the furthest west one can be in NL – Port au Basque is slightly east from here. It really feels like the end of the world. A unique community full of sharply coloured houses and orderly lawns, a far cry from the rest of this beautiful province. Today was the first time I stopped and noticed the complete absence of wind. Wow. Codroy Valley is a little piece of Heaven, and I can see how one could settle down here and forget that the rest of the world even exists.

IMG_0378

IMG_0389

Off to Nova Scotia tomorrow. 900+km later. I’m not sure how I feel. I guess this is my official “departure from Newfoundland,” and as such, it feels more more significant than even leaving St John’s. It’s also my first foray into the nooks and crannies of the other Maritimes, something that I am very much looking forward to.

IMG_0433

Sarah will soon be off to WWOOF, and I’ll set on my way. The solo leg of the journey. The journey. It’s a mixture of emotions, but I know I’ll love it. Eventually. Having company for NL was one of the happiest coincidences I’ve had, and now it’s time to see what’s next.

IMG_0382

Signing off for now. Thank you to everyone who’s reading this. I feel connected to you, even though I don’t know you, and I anticipate that I will grow more fond of that connection in the following weeks.

IMG_0449

4 comments

  1. Joe, that video of the sunset is fantastic. And I love your perspective throughout. You are definitely your Mother’s son in your appreciation of nature! I am so proud that you took the courageous step to do something that many people only dream about. Not sure if you will get to PEI, but if you do, it is a charming, beautiful island. Let us know when you get to Nova Scotia!

  2. Awesome pics, video and post. Glad you hit some good weather before leaving our island. Have a great 2nd leg of journey through the maritimes. Looking forward to reading many more updates. This is an amazing journey you’re doing and I’m glad you’re willing to share it.

Leave a Reply

